top of page

August's Grove Collaborative Box + Reviews

Welcome to this month's Grove order and reviews of the products in the previous box. I placed an order a bit earlier than usual as I'm flying back to England on Sunday, and I wanted to make sure that it would arrive before I left.

I'm really looking forward to seeing my home country again along with my family and friends! But there is much to do this week, and I am trying to spread all the tasks across the seven days to make it as manageable as possible. Particularly as my body is still tired from the tonsillitis. Yep I still have it. I'm hopeful that a change in climate and air will be the turning point and I'll start to recover.

The main task I have set for myself today is cleaning out the fridge. Fun times right? But I'm sure my homemade cleaning spray will make it more bearable!

If this is your first time reading one of these posts and you would like to know more about Grove, then catch up with my first post about them and then head back on over to this one.

 

What I ordered

This months purchases are all products that I haven't bought before (excluding the free lip balm which I've received before). So I'm looking forward to trying them out for the first time, as I am with any new items!

Here are the contents:

- Seventh Generation Super Long Pads x 2

- Toms of Maine Whole Care Toothpaste x 1

- Aura Cacia Rosemary Essential Oil x 1

- Grove Collaborative Lip Balm (free) x1

First thoughts

Now if you've read my previous posts about feminine hygiene products, you'll know that I'm loyal to Natracare. So I'm interested to see how the Seventh Generation pads compare. I am aware that they are not as eco-conscious as the Natracare brand. But as Grove were out of stock of my preferred choice, I opted to try these out instead. I'll let you know my thoughts in the future!

I've been looking for a more ethical toothpaste for a while and thought I'd give this one from Toms a try. I have quite sensitive teeth and would have preferred to have ordered a toothpaste to meet that need. But the only sensitive toothpaste they stock is one with no fluoride and I am hesitant to use such a one as my teeth are prone to cavities. I had to choose between the two on this occasion so I opted for the non-sensitive kind.

The Aura Cacia essential oils are not new to me, but this is my first time with the rosemary. I've heard of it's many benefits in personal care and in cleaning so I wanted to give it a try myself! You may just see it featured in future posts. It has a very potent smell, and reminds me of eucalyptus for some reason.

The lip balm I got free with the order because they like to reward their VIP customers with an item each month. I mentioned that I received one in a previous box. But although I haven't tried it out yet as I'm still finishing up a couple of other lip balms, it's great to know that I have a couple of back ups!

A closer look

 

Reviews from July's box

- Grove Collaborative Sink Tray: If you read last months post you would have seen that I immediately put this to work as soon as I unpacked it. I love how it organises my Mrs Meyers products by the sink! If you're interested, this is where it is on their website. If you decide you'd like to purchase it then be sure to click this link to get $10 off your first order.

- Seventh Generation Auto Dish Gel: Up until now I had never used a dishwasher gel and I have been both pleased and disappointed with this one. It cleaned the dishes very well, but it wasn't powerful enough to tackle tea stains at all! Our mugs became so brown inside and the tea spoons were still stained after each load that I had to hand wash them instead. We have never had that problem until using this gel. So overall I wouldn't repurchase this.

- Grove Collaborative Cleaning Concentrate (pack of 2): Unfortunately I haven't had the chance to use this yet as I've been too busy having fun making my own. But I've decided that once my Caldrea countertop spray is finished, I will be filling one of my much loved glass spray bottles with this product and keeping it by the sink.

 

So that's it for today's post! I hope you've enjoyed hearing about the environmentally friendly products that I've been trying out. Do you have any eco-conscious favourites that you use in your home? Let me know in the comments below!

Keep up the green cleaning!

Kathryn.

This page contains a link for $10 off your first order as a new customer. It also means I receive the same when you sign up. I love the service that Grove provide, which is why I always recommend them to you. If you're hesitant about trying them, then their FREE 60 day VIP trial is the best way to figure out if it is right for you. You can't go wrong with their free shipping, free gifts and easy price matching service.

 

bottom of page