top of page

A Bit of my Day and This Month's Grove Collaborative Box

My Morning

Today was just another plain day with me doing a bit of driving test studying and hanging a load of clothes outside to dry. It was when I was doing the latter that Ben scared me half to death by opening the back door to our house and asking where he should put his jet fuel soaked clothes. After a few seconds of getting over my surprise at him coming home half way through his shift, I said to just put them in the washing machine. When I walked into the house, the place wreaked of fuel.

It turns out a jet had come into the hangar first thing this morning which needed something fixing, and Ben had got covered in jet fuel. Now when anyone get's doused in jet fuel it's important they have a thorough shower to get the fuel off to prevent burns. After doing just that, changing into clean clothes and eating his lunch. He was back off to work again with a goodbye kiss!

The items of clothing involved in the incident are now hanging outside to dry after being in the machine still with a mild to moderate smell of fuel. I don't have much experience washing things which have such a strong smell so I hope it dissipates more by being outside! I think adding some baking soda to the laundry liquid helped out a bit though.

So that was my morning! I hope yours has been less... fragrant.

Let's move on and get stuck into what I received this month with Grove Collaborative.

 

The obligatory packaging and opening pictures

The products in question

This month there were 7 things in my order which came to a grand total of $23.81 after I used their price matching service (much loved by me, and many others I'm sure). You will all be able to tell what I ordered from the pictures below, but I'll lay it out anyhow:

- Aura Cacia Lavender Essential Oil 15ml x1

- Toms of Maine Anti-plaque Floss x 2

- Seventh Generation Toilet Cleaner x 1

- Seventh Generation Recycled Bathroom Tissue (12 rolls) x 1

- Mrs Meyers Lavender Hand Soap (free) x 1

- Grove Collaborative Walnut Scrubber Sponges (free) x 1

Initial thoughts after opening

I'm particularly interested in trying the lavender essential oil, toilet cleaner, bathroom tissue and hand soap. As these are all products I haven't used yet. I immediately had to smell the lavender essential oil which smells wonderful! No need for embellishment there. I had read good things about the toilet cleaner from the reviews, and it was also the most cost effective at the time so hopefully this will be a win-win product! The reviews for the bathroom tissue were also good. I'd been on the lookout for some "loo roll" made from recycled paper for a while and as the commissary doesn't stock it (despite the whole aisle they have dedicated to it!), I opted for the Seventh Generation pack from Grove. Finally the soap... I have already tried the lemon verbena scent in the Mrs Meyers line so I'm looking to using the lavender (one of my most favourite fragrances). My first reaction upon taking a whiff, is that it's quite a sweet smelling lavender. That could be interesting!

The other products I have used beforehand so I'll give just a brief update on my/our experience with those. I initially bought the dental floss for Ben from another website, but after some gentle persuasion (ok, a lot of persuasion) from him I started using it too. That's why I bought two this month, as we have about a quarter left and we will be parting ways due to his deployment. So I wanted to be prepared and make sure both he and I had one to use. The floss is really good at cleaning in between teeth and it's biodegradable too! The walnut and cellulose scrubber sponges I've found to be useful in the kitchen (for the sink) and bathroom (for the showers and bath). The walnut side is made using crushed walnuts and is good for general maintenance cleaning, but not so good for tougher cleaning jobs I've found. But that's where a bristle brush or scouring pad comes in I guess! The cellulose side is made from 100% vegetable cellulose and I've found it to be very absorbent as a result, which is what you want from a good sponge.

 

So that's it for today's post. I hope you've enjoyed reading it as much as I have writing it. Who knew I would get so interested in household supplies?! If you live in the states and would like to try Grove out for yourself. Check out my first post about them so you can find out more. Or go straight to their website* and have a look at the products they stock.

Until I write again, take care!

Kathryn.

 

* Note This page contains a referral link where you'll get $10 off your order, and I'll receive the same at no cost to you. If you become a VIP member yourself, you'll be able to send your own referral link to people you know.

 
bottom of page