top of page

This Month's Grove Collaborative Box and Reviews From Last Month

In today's post I'm bringing you this months Grove Collaborative box in the hope that even if you don't live in the states, it will inspire you to create a more environmentally friendly home. That is after all the main main mission of Grove!

If you're new to this blog and want to know what this company is about then head on over to my first post about them, which will give you more information.

UK visitors I have the name of a website where you can buy a variety of ethical and environmentally friendly goods. I can't believe I haven't told you about it before now, as this was the website I used when I was in the UK. You should go check it out, it's called Ethical Superstore. They stock such a wide variety of items, I'm sure that you'll love it!

Let's get on with the show...

 

What I ordered from Grove this month

This month wasn't a particularly large order as there wasn't much we needed. I also didn't receive anything free this time around, but got 25% off their new sink tray because I'm a VIP member. I love it!

Here's what I ordered:

- Grove Collaborative Sink Tray x1

- Seventh Generation Auto Dish Gel x 1

- Grove Collaborative Cleaning Concentrate (pack of 2) x 1

Initial thoughts

I was really excited to receive the sink tray as I'd actually already been looking for one online and in thrift shops to help make my sink look a bit more organised. It definitely makes me a bit more content now when I'm in the kitchen!

I bought the dishwasher gel as we'd been having some problems with our current dishwasher tablets leaving powder on our mugs and in the machine. It was probably the dishwasher itself and I hope as it's been looked at now by a professional that it will work how it did before. But anyway, I'm interested in seeing how a liquid dishwasher detergent works!

The cleaning concentrates are a new product on their website as of last month so I thought I'd try them out! It's $5.95 for a pack of two, and they're designed to be used in one of their 16 fl oz glass spray bottles with water added. It doesn't sound too bad a deal initially. But upon thinking about it further, it would be cheaper to buy a bottle of concentrate from another eco-friendly brand and dilute it that way as it would go further. It has good reviews though and recyclable packaging so I'm looking forward to seeing how it performs!

The order in pictures

 

Reviews from the previous months new products

I'm just going to give you all a quick review on each of the products I ordered last month, which at that time I hadn't tried yet. Check the full post out here.

- Aura Cacia Lavender Oil: This lavender oil is a bit stronger than my Tisserand one and has a bit more of a floral scent. But nevertheless, I think I shall enjoy using it as lavender in general has such a calming effect on me.

- Seventh Generation Toilet Cleaner: I was just using vinegar and baking soda to clean our toilets, but after a while I just got fed up with the vinegar smell lingering for so long in our bathrooms! This toilet cleaner has a light, pleasant scent and cleans the toilet really well! I definitely can't complain for the price I paid. The only comment I have against it, is that it has a small spout which you flip up and put under the rim of the toilet and dispense the cleaner. This is fine n' all but you have to push that same spout down again to close the bottle, and in my mind that's a bit unhygienic. So I always do that with my rubber gloves.

- Seventh Generation Recycled 2ply Bathroom Tissue: Before using this toilet paper, we were finishing off a pack of 1 ply I had mistakenly bought from the commissary and I'm really not keen on 1 ply! So it was a relief to use 2 ply again. The tissue is quite strong for being recycled and is plenty soft enough. The individual sheets are a bit smaller than what you'd expect. But that's my only complaint!

- Mrs Meyers Lavender Hand Soap: The fragrance wasn't quite what I was expecting from a lavender hand soap. I can detect a hint of lavender, but really it was just a generic floral scent and smelled fruity too. Most odd. The soap was moisturising though as I expected due to the olive oil and aloe vera in it. After trying this and the Lemon Verbena scent in the Mrs Meyers line, I still need to find my favourite!

 

That's it for today's post. I hope you've enjoyed hearing about all the ethical products I've been trying out! I'll be back with the next Grove order in August. Stay tuned for that if you want to hear how I got on with this month's new products!

In the mean time, I hope this post has encouraged you to look around for products that minimise our impact on the environment.

If you would like to try Grove Collaborative out for yourself then you can follow this link to receive $10 off your first order. Don't forget to check out their 60 day Free VIP trial too! That's how I got started.

Take care, and let's get some green cleaning done!

Kathryn.

 

If you sign up using my referral link you'll receive $10 off your order and so will I at no cost to you. If you try out the 60 day free VIP trial, then you'll be able to refer your friends as well with your own referral link!

 

bottom of page