top of page

Christmas Tree, Oh Christmas Tree!

Ahh yes, it's that time of year again! Time to get out the Christmas tree (or buy one) and all the festive decorations. It's a lot of fun right?!

On the 2nd of December last year, Ben and I flew into Valdosta after our honeymoon in Scotland. So it was probably around about this time last year that we put up the Christmas tree! It was so fun to do that together. Here's a picture that Ben took of me placing the decoration given to us by Grandma and Grandpa Boggs.

Yep. There are definitely some wonderful memories there.

This year though things were obviously a bit different so we had to improvise...

I still wanted to put up the tree even though I am going to be in California for a couple of weeks. So I thought why not make it so Ben can watch me putting it up over Skype? And that folks, is what we did! Especially as I wanted him to still be part of the process and perhaps help to kick start his Christmas spirit too.

So last Sunday after Ben had finished work, he sat on his bed, put on some Christmas music and chilled out to the views of me putting together the tree and decorating it. Of course we were both bopping along to the tunes as well!

It was the best we could make out of our situation and it was definitely a lot more enjoyable for me to be talking with him instead of doing it just by myself. And I know he appreciated it too!

 

Just for a bit of fun I thought I'd share my 3 favourite tree decorations with you all and the short story behind them.

This is the decoration that you saw me putting on the tree in the last photo.

It's a metal one from Hallmark and as I mentioned earlier, it was given to us by Grandma and Grandpa Boggs. What I didn't say was that it was for the occasion of our first Christmas as a married couple.

It was a very thoughtful gift from them and I absolutely love it!

I bought this angel from my friend Laura back in England when she organised a craft fair in November last year. She sold her own creations along with some other local craft makers.

She is making and selling Christmas decorations again this year so if you're in the UK make sure you check out her Etsy store and Facebook page to see what handmade items she has available!

Last but by no means least is this wooden nativity scene that Ben and I bought on our honeymoon.

We just happened to be in Scotland when Edinburgh were doing their Christmas market, which was quite a happy coincidence!

There were lots of lovely things to choose from but in the end we decided on this wooden tree decoration.

Seeing it again brings back some wonderful memories of our Scottish adventures!

That's it for this post! I hope you all have a wonderful and safe Christmas and New Year.

Much love,

Kathryn.

P.S. Who did you put up your Christmas tree and decorations with this year? What are some of your favourite tree ornaments? Let me know in the comments below!

 

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page