top of page

Being Green Doesn't Have to Cost the Earth

Hey ya'll (being American much?!)

I starting cooking up this blog post when I was out shopping today in Valdosta, and writing it was one of the first things I wanted to do upon arriving home.

What inspired it was browsing the aisles of Target, Ross and TJ Maxx (or TK Maxx as it's known in the UK). I saw that even though some brands of eco-friendly personal care and cleaning products are more expensive than conventional brands (you all know this). There are also some good deals out there to be had, which are worth it or just plain cheaper!

So I wanted to encourage you all to re-evaluate what you use on yourself, your family and home. Look further than your usual go to products, break out of your comfort zone and see what green equivalents there are. We're quite fortunate now to have so many brands available that make every day use items better for humans, animals and the environment.

So take advantage of it and explore all your options to see what works for you. Take it one item at a time as things run out. That's how I started when Ben and I married.

 

I'm going to be doing more posts in the future on some more natural alternatives to common products that we use in our households. I'm particularly passionate about making sure that whatever goes down our plugholes has a minimal impact on aquatic life. Particularly cleaning and other household products.

But for now I'm going to be sharing some of my finds with you today from a couple of the places I mentioned earlier, which I picked up for REALLY good prices. I used some birthday money that my mother in law gave me.

Yes I know what you're thinking. "She's crazy for spending birthday money on household products!"

Whilst that may or may not be true, it shows how much I care about it. I guess you can also throw the word EXCITED in there too. Just ask my husband!

Let's get to it...

 

Household Products

ECOS Plant Powered All Purpose Cleaner

Retail Price: $2.50 and upwards

The price I found it for: $1.99

Green Statistics:

- Made from plant based ingredients

- Free of formaldehyde and dyes

- Readily biodegradable

- pH balanced

- Never tested on animals

- Made using Zero Waste guidelines and with 100% renewable energy

Greenshield All Purpose Cleaner

Retail Price: $5.99

The price I found it for: £3.99

Green Statistics:

- Made using organic ingredients

- Non-toxic and no harsh chemical ingredients

- Bottle made from 50% sustainable sugar cane

- Never tested on animals

Full Circle Walnut Shell Scour Pads

Retail Price: $4.79

The price I found it for: $2

Green Statistics:

- Made using earth friendly walnut shells (safe for those with nut allergies)

- Ton toxic

- Sustainable (less energy to make and naturally break down)

- Can clean by putting in top dishwasher rack or wet in the microwave

Caldrea Black Coriander and Lime Hand Soap in Glass Bottle

Retail Price: $14 and upwards

The price I found it for: $5.99

Green Statistics:

- Phthalate, paraben and sulfate free

- Plant derived ingredients

- Biodegradable

- Reusable

- Recyclable

Method Pink Persimmon Hand Wash

Retail Price: $5.53

The price I found it for: $2

Green Statistics:

- Triclosan free

- Naturally derived ingredients

- Biodegradable

- Never tested on animals

- 100% recycled plastic bottle

Personal Care

Alba Botanica Hawaiian Dry Oil Sunscreen

Retail Price: $7.99

The price I found it for: $3

Green Statistics:

- No oxybenzone or octinoxate

- No artificial colours, parabens, sulfates or phthalates

- Biodegradable

- 100% vegetarian ingredients

- Not tested on animals

- Part of the Hain Celestial Group

Good Things Argan Oil Hand Cream

Retail Price: Unknown

The price I found it for: $1

Green Statistics:

- Free from sulphates, parabens, petrochemicals or mineral oils

- Suitable for vegetarians and vegans

- Never tested on animals

Tisserand Mint and Aloe Deodorant

Retail Price: $7.99

The price I found it for: $2

Green Statistics:

- No aluminium

- No parabens or synthetic fragrances

- Suitable for vegans

- Made with responsibly sourced essential oils

 

I should say that just because some of these brands don't say "triclosan free" or "sulfate free" and so on. It doesn't mean that they contain those ingredients. I'm just listing the main information that's featured on the products themselves.

 

I hope you've enjoyed reading this post! I wonder if you've picked up any bargains recently for yourself or for your home? What was the product you're most interested in from my post today? My favourite product from the day was the the Caldrea hand soap! Even though it was the most expensive of my purchases today, it was an absolute steal for Caldrea as they are a luxury aroma-therapeutic brand with prices to match.

Take care for now everyone,

Kathryn.

 

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page