top of page

When in Georgia...

...You will be hot (almost all of the time). As soon as you step outside. You sweat buckets if you try to do anything remotely active. Like say, walking 10 ft. The temperature is ranging from about 83 Fahrenheit (28 Celsius) to 92 F (33 C) at the moment with humidity of 65% or higher. I'm sure there are many places that are hotter than here at the moment. But boy it doesn't half make you thankful for air conditioning!

Chilling with the ceiling fan

...You will also get a whole load of ailments you've never had before. I've been to the doctors here more times than I can count for things that I've never had in my life! Now I consider myself a healthy person in general but being here has made me question that for sure. Yesterday for example featured the latest of my medical complaints. As I was cleaning the bathroom, my throat suddenly felt more odd than usual. So I stopped to have a look in the mirror and saw some kind of small mass at the back of my mouth. I was able to get a doctors appointment the same day, and he told me that I have tonsillitis. I was literally like "What?!". In the nicest possible way of course. I was just confused as I've never EVER had tonsillitis in my life. Not even a hint of it. But anyway, I try and roll with the punches so I'm on anti-biotics for it now.

BUT.

Otherwise life is good, and we are happy.

 

Today has been quite a busy day all being told. I had a 10 am appointment at the Ford dealership in Nashville (10 miles away) because we'd had a recall letter through the post for the air bag mechanism in my Mustang (see picture below!). We also booked to have an oil change done as well. Whilst I was waiting for the mechanics to finish, an older gentleman sat down at the table where I was sitting. Now as you may or may not know, I can be a bit shy initially so I generally need someone I don't know to take the first step in conversation. This gentleman did, and we spent about 45 minutes talking about each others lives. He of course asked me where I was from. I of course told him that I was from England and told him a bit about how I came to be in the deep south. I love being different and catching people off guard with my accent. People just don't expect to hear an English accent and it's fun surprising them! I hope I made the gentleman's day, because he made mine. He waved to me a couple of times as I was leaving so I guess I did.

The day I drove my Mustang home!

After returning home and watching an episode of the Gilmore Girls (I'm re-watching the series on Netflix at the moment thanks to my brother adding me onto his account), and having lunch. I left to go to the commissary and do the weekly shop. Our cupboards were a bit bare by yesterday so the small cart that I usually use only just about held everything. After packing the shopping away I got a bit hot and bothered trying to wrap up a care package for my sister in law and her family. The packing tape wasn't playing ball and neither was the brown packing paper. Then once I'd finished the battle of wrapping it up, I realised that I hadn't included the card in with the rest of it. I just had to walk away at that point otherwise I would have blown my top. It's my own fault, and it's kind of laughable now really! In case you were wondering what the care package is, my sister in law has just had a little boy - yay! But I will write a bit about that another time soon.

 

That's it for today! I hope this post finds you well.

Much love,

Kathryn.

 


Related Posts

See All
bottom of page