top of page

The Lola Subscription


Background information

Yes that's right. It's time for another monthly subscription post folks. This one is for the ladies! Guess how I found out about it? You got it. Facebook. Facebook ads are a wonder for finding new companies and products. Particularly if they're right up your street like this one is for me!

You may remember in my first Ladies Post that I talked about knowing what's in sanitary products and my experience with biodegradable, organic cotton pads. I think I'd heard of Lola before I wrote that post but I didn't know much about them. So when an ad popped up and said that I could try their service for free. I jumped at the chance!

 

So what is Lola?

I'm glad you asked. Lola is quite a new company (I think it's their two year birthday today!) founded by a couple of ladies who stopped and questioned one day what is actually in tampons. Thus, Lola was born. Their idea was to eliminate all the unknown synthetics in regular products and create sanitary products from just one ingredient. Organic Cotton. You can choose from liners, ultra-thin pads or tampons. You can also mix and match the absorbency you want, which is quite handy (I opted to try half day time and half night time of their ultra-thin pads).

Lola gives back to the community by helping to provide tampons for millions of US women (and girls) on really low incomes. So every time a purchase is made through them, they donate sanitary items to their partners to distribute. Cool stuff!

Their products are made in Europe by trusted suppliers, and are approved by the FDA along with their partners. The only thing that I can't find information on is what material the wrappers and undersides of the pads are. They feel like plastic, and I will assume that until information is given to me otherwise. Although they do say "no synthetics", which could elude to all materials being natural.

Regardless. The mission of Lola isn't for their products to be made from 100% biodegradable ingredients. It's to make sure we know what's in our sanitary products and what's coming into contact with our lady parts is 100% natural and won't disturb the delicate balance.

 

What products do they carry?

Quite simply they carry the following. There's something for pretty much everyone:

- Applicator tampons

- Non-applicator tampons

- Ultra-thin Day time pads

- Ultra-thin Night time pads

- Ultra-thin Liners

- First period kit

 

How does it work?

That's simple too.

Once you have chosen the product/s you would like and set your absorbency preferences. You then go through checkout and they'll deliver to you monthly with free postage. They take you through it step by step.

You can order as many boxes of liners, tampons or pads per month as you like.

The cost is $9 for pads and $10 for tampons, which is for one box. Then if you order 2 or more, it's $1 less per box and shipping is free however many you order.

You can visit their website and see for yourself! They offer $5 off your first box for new customers.

 

My experience

Now of course I couldn't do a proper review without trying their product out myself could I?

As I mentioned earlier I ordered half of their day time pads and half of their night time pads (6 of each), which equaled 12 pads in the box. I've put the picture just below for you.

I really liked the quality of the box they came in and the little phrase they had on the underside, which you can see above. I think they've done an amazing job with their branding overall. It's simplistic but sleek, fun and elegant!

Now for the pads themselves. There are two aspects I really like about them.

The first being how comfortable they are! These are probably the most comfortable pads I've ever used, which includes natural and the standard Always/Bodyform etc pads you can get. The organic cotton they use is just so soft!

The second aspect being that they are very absorbent. Even though they are ultra thin pads, I was amazed at how much they absorbed. Even the day time ones! Like other natural pads, the fluid does not get wicked away to a layer underneath. It sits on top. When I first switched to natural pads it took a while to get used too. But now I'm absolutely fine with it!

The only slightly negative thing I have to say about them is that I think the night time pads could have been a bit longer to make me feel more covered. But that's my own view, because I know I get paranoid about it!

Unfortunately I can't say how they hold up during rigorous exercise. But in my experience not many pads do last very well in those situations! That's where tampons are a lot better.

I've included pictures of what the pads look like in a small slideshow for you folks.

 

Would I keep this subscription?

Despite how much I like these pads I wouldn't get them again. The cost is just a bit too premium for me. I'm therefore going to be sticking with my Natracare, as I agree with their ethics the most and I can get about 3 boxes for the cost of 1 from Lola.

 

That's it for this post friends! I hope you've enjoyed reading about Lola's monthly subscription service. If you don't live in the states then I hope it inspires you to see what natural alternatives are out there.

It's important to look after our bodies and our planet as much as we can friends. So get researching and start making the switch to a more natural way of life!

Much love,

Kathryn.

 

bottom of page