top of page

Ladies Post: Do You Know What's in Your Feminine Care Products?


Guys, if you care about what the ladies in your life are using on themselves each month then by all means read on. Although before you do, be sure that I am going to be quite candid so be prepared. The reason why I'm calling this a ladies post is purely because it's probably going to interest my fellow females most.

In today's post I'm going to be talking about products that are better for our health and the environment, as well as the issue of companies listing (or not listing in this case) the ingredients that are in our monthly products. I wonder if you have even thought about the ingredients in a tampon or pad before? I never did until I discovered the brand that I use now (Natracare). Still with me? Then let's continue...

 

A Bit of Background Information

So why am I even talking to you all about this? Well this topic is something I've been interested in since I discovered more environmentally friendly feminine products, which are also better for us women. A few years ago I started looking at sanitary pads, which were made from organic cotton, starch and cellulose from wood pulp. Now it's ok if you raised your eyebrows here because I was certainly dubious as well. This discovery happened when I was still living in the UK, so it was mum and I that came across them on a website who sold a variety of ethical products. I was interested to try them out, and started out basic with some of the pantyliners from a company called Natracare. After getting used to those, I then started using the heavier absorbency pads for my time of the month. Let me tell you it was definitely a slow transition as I didn't trust them nearly as much as my then current Always and Bodyform go too. At first I only wore them when I knew I was going to be at home as I was scared of leakage (who's with me there?!). They also felt completely different to your average pads from the shop because they don't have any plastic in them, and that took a while to get used too. But now that I've made the 100% switch I could never go back! Since I've been living in the states however, I have had to supplement with a packet of Always (hated every minute of it) as I haven't always been organised in ordering enough to see me through. Plus they're more expensive here than in the UK!

Before I get into the ingredients part of the post I'd like to talk a bit about what inspired me to write about this subject. A few months ago I signed up to be part of Seventh Generation's online community called Generation Good. Now for everyone outside of the USA they are a company that make environmentally friendly home and personal products which are healthy for humans and the planet. SG believe in being transparent with the ingredients in their products and list them very clearly. At the moment they are trying to raise awareness of what goes into menstrual products and are part of the Come Clean campaign to make it law for companies to list the ingredients in their pads and tampons. Being part of Generation Good I decided to help spread the word to you all. Click here and here for more information and to take you to some useful resources about the campaign.

 

The Ingredients

So why aren't ingredients listed on the packaging of our regular shop bought pads and tampons? Feminine products are, believe it or not, classed as "medical devices" so therefore do not legally have to have the ingredients on show. Now I've already mentioned one ingredient that exists in your regular pad. Plastic. Conventional pads made with plastics such as polyethylene (PET), polypropylene and propylene glycol (PEG) can sometimes contain the equivalent of 4 plastic bags! Further ingredients include other synthetics like polyester, rayon, viscose, fragrances, odour neutralisers, and chlorine bleach to make them look so white. Put off yet? Your average tampon also contains cotton treated with pesticides, which is what every tampon will have in unless it's made with organic cotton. None of this is sounding particularly healthy for our va-ju-ju's is it. I don't wish to scare you by saying all of this. I just want more people to be aware so that you can go out, do your own research, and use more natural products to better look after your health. Companies like Natracare actually list the ingredients in their sanitary products (see pictures) so you know what you're buying. Seventh Generation also list their ingredients, but their pads are not biodegradable like Natracare.

 

My initial advice to you would be to first study the packaging of your current pads or tampons. If you don't see an ingredients list, then chances are they will have at least some of the not very nice ingredients I've listed above.

Now that you've heard my story, I want to encourage all of you to start making a change to your monthly products. It's ok if you start out basic like I did, but just persevere and try different brands if you need too. I chose to use Natracare because I found them the most reasonable in price, and most reputable. They don't just do pads but also tampons, intimate wipes as well as maternity and nursing pads. Natracare don't do them but there are also menstrual cups and reusable cloth pads to consider.

That concludes the first of my 'Ladies Posts'. I hope you've found it interesting, and please let me know your thoughts and experiences in the comments below!

Take care for now,

Kathryn.

 

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page